Hardware prices

January 11, 2009

On 12/18/2006, I purchased “CORSAIR XMS2 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800” from NewEgg for $263.00 USD; straight out of my NewEgg account history.  Last week, I decided to buy 2 more GB for the same motherboard, and because I’m neurotic I have to buy the exact same brand and model.  Even though the RAM heatsink colors don’t match the MB slot colors and that almost makes my head explode.  I’m now rocking back and forth in my chair.

Going back into NewEgg, I clicked on the product link from my account history to see if the product is still available.  It is, and the cost for the exact same product is now 19.99 after rebate.  Combine “the endless march of technology” with some RAM price fixing allegations and you have something special.  Anyone else have similar stories?  To be fair, either about being psychotic or about drastic hardware prices drops on your equipment will do.

9 Responses to “Hardware prices”

  1. Derek Says:

    Ahh. My 60 Mb hard drive for which I paid $560.

    That would buy 4 terabytes or so.

  2. jospoortvliet Says:

    I must agree that memory prices amaze me as well. It’s not only the absolute price going down, also the relative price. 2-3 years ago memory of a decent pc would’ve cost you about 80-100 euro. These days, it’s more like 30-40. A decent computer was 1500 euro, now they’re selling hardware for 1000 which is capable of the exact same thing – running pretty much every game and app at full. I don’t take vista into account here, but it seems to me hardware is catching up to software these days. And the result is not ppl buying heavier hardware for the same amount of cash, but spending less on hardware. Which also increases the relative price of software – not a bad thing for us😉

  3. wadejolson Says:

    @Derek: Let’s not go too far back into the past and date ourselves. Looking at the prices for my 386 SX-25 parts would probably hurt. At least the Commodore VIC-20 seemed like a deal!

    Yes, on this same order I bought a 1 TB drive for $120 USD that will have nearly twice the storage of the 4 drives combined it’s finally replacing in that machine.

  4. TheBlackCat Says:

    I was walking through the grocery store and saw a 4-function calculator with memory selling for like 5 bucks. What shocked me, and made me feel really old, was that all of the buttons were touch-screen lcd buttons. I also see them giving away in cereal digital boxes watches I would have loved to have had as a kid.

  5. J Klassen Says:

    When I originally bought my laptop from dell in fall ’07, getting 4 gigs of ram would cost me an extra $200 or so; this fall i bought an extra ddr2 sodimm stick from ncix for $20, so that’s also a kick on how much oem’s charge extra.


  6. I built a dual core machine with 2GB of RAM about a year and a half ago. With the same amount of money I’m sure I could easily go quad core with 4GB+ of RAM and have a better video card as well. Which almost sounds tempting😛.

  7. Thomas Zander Says:

    LCD TV!

    I bought one some years ago and when I moved I was thinking of putting it up online (it was 1 year old). So I offered it for 50% of the orig price.
    I got an email asking if I was mad; offering it for well over the list price of newer models…
    Seems a newer model was about 40% of the price I payed for mine.

    • wadejolson Says:

      @Thomas: Good point. I bought a 36″ glass screen 1080i TV in 2002. Now I want to get rid of it in the next year, and I’m not sure anyone would even come and pick it up for free.


Leave a Reply

