LTFT: (2^2)(3^2)(2^2)(3^2)

July 11, 2008

Tomorrow morning is the LifeTime Fitness Triathlon, and I’m number 3636.  Yes, that likely means that at least 3,600 people will be doing the event.  I have to be at the event, signed in, marked and have the transition area ready by 6:30am.  Combine that with the fact that I can never sleep before the event, and you get to factor in an additional type of fatigue.  I just tried to take a nap, to no avail.

For the rest of the night, I’m just going to tune my bike and pack.  Like walking into any exam or interview, it’s always odd knowing that all preparation is complete.  You always have to chase away the doubts of what you could have done differently, how you could have trained harder, how sleeping with that one extra supermodel would have given you the mental edge.  My biggest concern is always my swimming – this year I’ve done more open water swimming (despite the cold water temperatures all summer), but I’ve always done far worse in swimming than I expect from training.  I considered paying all of the hyperactive children in the health club kiddy pool to flail about in my lane to help simulations.  I should probably bite the bullet an buy a wetsuit.

Tomorrow should be fully annoying, as the wind is my enemy and the prediction is for 25mph.  How ridiculous.  Of course it’s been fairly calm all week.  A storm is supposed to roll through tonight, I can only hope that this weather pattern leaves meteorologists wrong and the morning is calm.  Right now outside, the wind is about to tear my roof off.  Good times.  Needless to say, the dog is whining to go for a walk.

Well, off to prepare and eat some dinner, wish me (and my trusty steed) luck!

3 Responses to “LTFT: (2^2)(3^2)(2^2)(3^2)”


  1. Nice bike! Good luck! I was going to go out today but being a wuss and hearing loud scary thunder I decided against it…🙂

  2. Phill Says:

    nice (csc) bike


  3. […] 5, 2008 LifeTime Fitness Triathlon: Operation Complete.  As I noted in my last post, I was contestant 3636.  I had permanent marker with 3636 put on each arm.  Further, they put […]


Leave a Reply

