You down with D&D? (Thou doth know me)

March 18, 2008

Being shaken out of a blogging rut is good, but the reason is tragic.  No one has (to my knowledge) mentioned the recent passing of Gary Gygax.  Raised as an only child by a mother who worked long hours, Gary’s creations constantly kept me occupied and kept me from causing trouble in a neighborhood where that was way too easy.  The Monster Manual was my babysitter.  The reason why I know Konqi has a chlorine gas attack.

Even today, whether playing MMORGs or cracking jokes about “failing a saving throw vs hang overs”, his influence is still felt.  Recently some guy was wearing a a ridiculous set of pantaloons out one night.  Why?  Only God and his hairdresser know.  But if that weren’t enough he was shooting off his mouth (apparently trying to distract people from his get-up).  When he came too close for comfort, what was my buddies’ response: “Who are you….the bard?”  Silence.  Then laughter.  Then embarassment.  Without Gary (I’ll give Shakespeare some credit here too), would a bard joke have been possible?  Hell no.  The world is a better place with bard jokes.  Thanks for everything Gary.

6 Responses to “You down with D&D? (Thou doth know me)”

  1. Kevin Kofler Says:

    LOL, “Diet: Small humanoids such as gnomes are preferred”, how fitting.😉

  2. wadejolson Says:

    Wow, that’s hilarious. I didn’t even catch that myself! I wonder what the edit-history of that page is🙂.

  3. wadejolson Says:

    Well of course it was covered in general – I knew about it. It wasn’t like I was sitting down in Gary’s living room when it happened. I’m talking about mentioning in on PlanetKDE, the premier destination for global news.

  4. Aaron Says:

    Archaic grammer police: it is dost (second person singular), not doth (which is third person singular).


Leave a Reply

