Membership survey: Motivation for joining

September 4, 2012

Jonathan Riddell just blogged about the motivations of users with the Kubuntu distro.  In the Join the Game member survey that just wrapped up, we asked a very similar question:

We are looking for quotes from supporting members that explains the motivation to Join the Game. These quotes will be used on the Join the Game website and in newsletters. All quotes will be anonymous.

Nearly half of all survey respondents opted to enter in a quote.  Not bad!  So I’m going to ride on Riddell’s coattails here.  It’s a safe bet that whatever city he’s currently in requires a coat.  And that his coat has long tails.  Here is a small sample:

  • I started out on UNIX in the 1980s. I’ve used Linux since its inception in 1991. It’s come a LONG way since then, and this command-line-loving, *nix old timer uses nothing but Linux with KDE as my desktop environment. Love it! And appreciate all the hard work that goes into its development.
  • I really like the desktop environment. It has so many useful features that I can customise to my liking and I almost dread working on other people’s computers because I’ve set up KDE exactly the way I like it. I joined so that I could support the continuing development of something I find so useful.
  • The KDE project is a serious commitment to free software viability, as a respectful and safe way to create quality software, plus yet leaving room for successful business models!
  • Join the Game is a great way to show some love to the great KDE community and support the further development of open source software!
  • Finally I do not have to buy all those t-shirts anymore to support KDE!
  • With each major release, KDE gets better and better. I can’t imagine where we will be in a couple of years, but it’s amazing to feel that I have contributed to the project, even in a small way.
  • “Do all the good you can, By all the means you can, In all the ways you can, In all the places you can, At all the times you can, To all the people you can, As long as ever you can.” John Wesley
  • Simple: they deserve it.
  • The KDE community has been consistently innovative, not just with software features, but also with commercial support and community management and engagement. It’s important that we continue to fund this innovation for the future.
  • I joined the game because I wanted to give something back to the community. With community I not only mean KDE, but the whole world!
  • KDE is a vibrant community, I love the way it evolved with time and the way it work together. If anything else, joining the game for me was my small contribution to support those amazing people that are part of the KDE community.

Thank you to all who provided motivational quotes, you’ll see them springing up all over.  And thanks to Jonathan for the ride; these quotes were something quick I could share.

Just like his Kubuntu quotes, if you’re considering Joining the Game, what quote above best fits you?

4 Responses to “Membership survey: Motivation for joining”


  1. :) I liked that post, reminds me why I keep spending hours in KDE :)

  2. Reza Shah Says:

    I almost rewrite this phrase
    “I joined the game because I wanted to give something back to the community. With community I not only mean KDE, but the whole world!”
    That phrase is the best fit for my case.

  3. wadejolson Says:

    @Aleix: Yes, it always seems to be negative feedback that gets through, doesn’t it? Exactly why I posted this, to remind everyone that there’s a lot of really thankful people out there.

  4. laoguy Says:

    Deci and Ryan (2008) have got you covered. Their self-determination theory of human motivation.states that there are 3 basic human needs for psychological well being, autonomy, competence and relatedness (that sense of purpose when involved in something beneficial to humanity). Now that might make you feel like you are just a victim of human DNA but they reckon it is necessary for greater psychological health and more effective performance in heuristic activities. KDE supplies all there is to attain human perfection. By the look of your history you are already there.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

